The Preservation Department of the Emory Libraries was established in September 1985 to support preservation activities in all of the Emory Libraries. The Preservation staff acts as a resource for the latest conservation treatments, digitization, and preservation information. This includes still image and audiovisual digitization of Emory Libraries collection material. It also maintains the disaster preparedness and response plan for all Emory Libraries. Additionally, the Department monitors environmental conditions and light levels to protect our collections in storage and exhibition areas in all library buildings. The Conservation Lab was established in 1987 and provides care for the physical condition of all Emory University library collections, both rare and circulating.
Staff of the Preservation Department hold active roles in local and regional preservation efforts, such as participating in the Heritage Emergency Response Alliance (HERA), the Southeast Regional Conservation Association (SERCA), and as consultants to our wider community. Nationally, our conservators are involved in the American Institute of Conservation (AIC), American Library Association (ALA), the Guild of Book Workers (GBW), and the Association of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA), participating as members, board members, committee chairs, and program planners.
All staff are committed to act as information resources concerning preservation and conservation issues.
Kim Norman - Director, Preservation and Digitization Services, firstname.lastname@example.org
Ephranette Brown - Head, Library Conservation, email@example.com
Kyle Fenton - Head, Still Image Digitization, firstname.lastname@example.org
Nina Rao - Audiovisual Conservator, email@example.com
Conservation Staff Members
Julie Newton - Conservation Coordinator, firstname.lastname@example.org
Kirsten Wehner - Conservation Coordinator, email@example.com
This internship position has been filled for 2023. Please watch this space for future internship opportunities.
Emory Libraries Preservation Department offers a paid Conservation Internship focused on treating the Emory Libraries book and paper collections. Individuals from underrepresented groups who have a demonstrated interest in conservation are encouraged to apply. Applicants may be preprogram students pursuing training opportunities to learn and develop conservation treatment skills. Current students in a conservation graduate program, or recent graduates seeking to build and expand their skills are equally encouraged to apply.
Under the supervision of the Conservation Lab staff, the successful applicant will have opportunities to develop skills in treatment decision-making focused on practical techniques, by performing a broad range of conservation treatments on library materials. The intern will gain exposure to the wider professional community through connections with conservators and collections in nearby organizations, conservation labs, museums, and private conservation practices.
This program may be full-time (maximum 40 hours per week) or part-time (less than 40 hours per week), earning a $6,000 stipend. Additionally, a $1,000 stipend is available to assist with professional development opportunities such as workshop attendance, conference participation, or professional organization membership fees. The exact internship dates are to be arrange, beginning June 2023.
• Pre-Program Internship This internship will provide hands-on training in book and paper conservation, a better understanding of the conservation profession, and material to build a competitive portfolio for graduate school applications. The candidate will treat Emory Libraries collection material and develop a wide variety of conservation skills for application to graduate school.
• Post-Graduate Internship This internship will broaden and deepen skills in book and paper conservation, better preparing the intern for the professional field. The intern will complete advanced conservation treatments, learn from experienced colleagues, and participate in the Conservation Lab operations. Based on applicant interest, this may include a research project. Current students and recent conservation program graduates will gain important work experience through treatment of Emory Libraries collection material.
About Emory Libraries Emory Libraries is ranked among the top twenty Association of Research Libraries (ARL) in North America and has collections of more than 5.8 million volumes, 430,000 electronic journals, over 1.8 million electronic books, and internationally renowned special collections. The Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Books Library is home to over 200,000 volumes and 21,000 linear feet of manuscript material with collections spanning more than 800 years of history, particularly modern literature and poetry, African American history and culture, political, social, and cultural movements, and the Emory University Archives.
Requirements Candidates will:
Interested applicants will apply with the following:
Post-graduate applicants must include three to five examples of previous treatments (coursework projects may be submitted).
Provide contact information for three references, specifically current or previous mentors, professors, or employers.
Submit as a single PDF to Ephranette Brown at Ephranette.firstname.lastname@example.org
Application deadline: March 1, 2023
This workshop is currently full. Please watch this space for future training opportunities.
Modular Cleaning Program (MCP) for Book and Paper Conservation with Chris Stavroudis
May 22 – 26, 2023
Registration Fee: $700.00
Emory University - Robert W. Woodruff Library
540 Asbury Circle Atlanta, Ga 30322
This in-person workshop will be a collaboration between participants and Chris Stavroudis, combining theoretical and hands-on approaches to treating book and paper items using the Modular Cleaning Program.
In a combination of lectures and lab experimentation, attendees will discuss, test, compare, and record treatments using a range of aqueous cleaning solutions, emulsions, micro-emulsions, and select gels to build complex cleaning systems.
To maximize time, effort, and discussions, participants should bring questions, case studies, ideas, and techniques to experiment, examine, and share with the group throughout the week. Participants are encouraged to bring samples or de-accessioned materials for the foundation of the hands-on portion of the workshop. A small number of samples can be provided upon request. Collections materials are not recommended.
This workshop is co-sponsored with SERCA (Southeast Regional Conservation Association). For a more detailed description, click here.
Note: As an intermediate-level workshop, participants should have previous experience with aqueous solutions and/or gels and emulsions outside of a workshop setting.
For questions or further information about the workshop, please contact Ephranette Brown at email@example.com.