Skip to main content

Peer Review Committee (PRC)

About the PRC

The Peer Review Committee is the body from which five-person panels are formed to review documentation and make recommendations regarding librarian appointment, renewal, promotion-in-rank, and Librarian with Distinction recognition. As part of the interview process for librarians, the Peer Review Committee also meets with each candidate to provide an overview of the Handbook and the processes for renewal and promotion.

The PRC is elected from a pool of eligible librarians and consists of 15 members including three officers (the Chair, Chair-Elect and Past Chair). Elections are held annually for the Chair-Elect and for four regular members, each to serve a 3-year term. All librarians are eligible to vote and elections are conducted by the Librarians Assembly.




To be eligible to serve, librarians must be:

  • Working full-time
  • At the rank of Associate Librarian or above, or the equivalent for Non-Series Librarians
  • Have at least three years of full-time service as a LITS librarian

Persons holding the following positions are not eligible to serve on the Peer Review Committee or on a Peer Review Panel:

  • University Librarian
  • Director of the Goizueta Business Library
  • Director of the Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives & Rare Books Library (Rose Library)
  • Director of the Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library
  • Director(s) of the Emory Center for Digital Scholarship
  • Associate Dean and College Librarian at Oxford
  • Any position in LITS HR

See the Handbook for additional information.

PRC 2020 Membership


  • Erin Mooney, Chair
  • Jen Doty, Chair-Elect
  • Mia White, Past Chair


  • John Bence
  • Erica Bruchko
  • Jessie Copeland
  • Jennifer Elder
  • Carrie Hintz
  • Melanie Kowalski
  • Kristan Majors
  • Ellen Neufeld
  • Rob O'Reilly
  • Megan Slemons
  • James Steffen
  • Chella Vaidyanathan