Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
image/svg+xml

Research, Engagement, and Scholarly Communications

Phased Reopening and Remote Collection Services

E-Books

Collections Best Practices

  • Developing, stewarding and sustaining access to collections that support and research and learning at Emory
  • Building intentionality into developing collections that reflect and represent values of social justice, equity, inclusion and diversity
  • Maintaining and deepening assessment for our print and electronic collections to support collection decision-making
  • Collaborating with the Emory community to make informed decisions regarding the purchasing and management of electronic and physical collections
  • Remaining flexible to support new and developing areas of research
  • Supporting and maintaining balance between electronic and print resources in light of faculty and student preference
  • Appreciating the demands placed on essential and integral support infrastructure in technical services (acquisitions, metadata, and electronic and continuing resources)
  • Supporting financially and open access initiatives, both locally and (inter)nationally.
  • Facilitating and leveraging access to other local Emory collections, as well as to other peer institutions and partnerships with national organizations and collaborative initiatives (e.g., print retention agreements and joint e-purchasing)

Approved by Collection Management, December 2016

In Summer 2020, the Fund Allocations Review Group built upon these principles for Best Practices as to how allocate collection funds more systematically and strategically, and document this practice (forthcoming).

CMTAG

CMTAG (Reviews, assesses, and prioritizes requests for new electronic resources for Woodruff Library in the pursuit of establishing a robust e-resource collection.  The group includes representatives from subject teams, metadata, and electronic and continuing resources who help to address and evaluate relevant issues surrounding the funding, discovery, licensing and management of e-resources)

  • Chris Palazzolo, Head of Collection Management, Chair
  • James Steffen, Humanities Team Leader
  • Jennifer Elder, Sciences and Social Sciences Team Leader
  • Guo-Hua Wang, Area Studies Team Leader
  • Marian Kelly, AMS (Acquisition and Metadata Services)
  • Susan Kellett Gue, Electronic Resources Licensing Coordinator
  • Sofya Slutskaya, Head of Resource Description
  • Katherine Hart, Head of Electronic and Continuing Resources

Forms and Guidelines for Subject Librarians

  • CMTAG Form 
    • Use this form for new e-resource requests once you have negotiated content and pricing, and include any other pertinent information as well for assessing and prioritizing the purchase (such as deadlines for offers, faculty need, etc). Please complete all fields, including the subject categories, so that we can expedite placement on Databases@Emory once license negotiation is complete. ECR will handle communication with vendor and core systems for set up and technical issues.  Any questions regarding the status of the license and set up should be sent to E-RESOURCES-L@listserv.emory.edu.
  • Patron Rush Request
  • New Journal Request
  • Streaming Video Request
  • Swank Digital Campus Streaming Video Request Form
  • Databases@Emory Form

Budget Coordination